Barkskins by Annie Proulx

This is a vast sprawling book. Covering nations, cultures and the clashes that result. Though I enjoyed this book I got lost in the details. There was so much to take in and a family tree and or a glossary would have been of a help. I also thought too much emphasis was placed on family relationships and not enough given to the effects of the settlers on the native culture and the environment. I think this book would have been better being two or maybe a trilogy. A difficult subject handled by a very competent writer. Though I enjoyed this book I much prefer her shorter fiction.

Leave a Reply

