The Dog Who Dared to Dream

The Dog Who Dared to Dream

by Sun-mi HwangChi-Young Kim (Translator)
This is the story of a dog named Scraggly. Born an outsider because of her distinctive appearance, she spends most of her days in the sun-filled yard of her owner’s house. Scraggly has dreams and aspirations just like the rest of us. But each winter, dark clouds descend and Scraggly is faced with challenges that she must overcome. Through the clouds and even beyond the gates of her owner’s yard lies the possibility of friendship, motherhood and happiness – they are for the taking if Scraggly can just hold on to them, bring them home and build the life she so desperately desires


My thoughts:


I was looking for a change from crime and this book was it. It was a world populated by animals who can converse with each other and humans who think they understand them.
A book that shows animals have feelings just like humans. They feel pain ,grief and happiness in their too short lives.
They are also capable of unconditional love and loyalty. We can all take a leaf from from the books and lives of so called dumb animals.
For any who likes a lighthearted and paradoxically a read that makes you think, then this is the book for you.
The heroes? of the book are Grandpa Screecher and Scraggly. Opposites who are bonded by love if not understanding   



Hwang Sun-mi (born 1963) is a South Korean author and professor who is best known for her fable The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly, which has also been made into a successful animated film in South Korea, Leafie, A Hen into the Wild.
she was Born in 1963, Hwang was unable to attend middle school due to poverty, but thanks to a teacher who gave her a key to a classroom, she could go to the school and read books whenever she wanted. She enrolled in high school by taking a certificate examination and she graduated from the creative writing departments at Seoul Institute of the Arts and Gwangju University, and from graduate school at Chung-Ang University. She lives in Seoul, South Korea.Hwang is an adjunct professor at the Faculty of Literature in the Seoul Institute of the Arts. Hwang’s career as a writer began in 1995, and since then she has published nearly 30 books over various genres. She is most famous for her work “The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly” which was also made into a movie that broke Korean box office records for animated films, earning nearly 7 billion won in its first month of release.Awards:
Nong-min Literay Award (1995)
Tamla Literary Award (1997)
SBS Media Literary Award (2001)
Sejong Children’s Literature Prize (2003)[7]
The Best Book of the Year in Poland (2012)..
I Hear the Sirens in the Street (Detective Sean Duffy #2)

I Hear the Sirens in the Street (Detective Sean Duffy #2)

Detective Inspector Sean Duffy returns for the incendiary sequel toThe Cold Cold Ground.

Sean Duffy knows there’s no such thing as a perfect crime. But a torso in a suitcase is pretty close.Still, one tiny clue is all it takes, and there it is. A tattoo. So Duffy, fully fit and back at work after the severe trauma of his last case, is ready to follow the trail of blood – however faint – that always,alwaysconnects a body to its killer.A legendarily stubborn man, Duffy becomes obsessed with this mystery as a distraction from the ruins of his love life, and to push down the seed of self-doubt that he seems to have traded for his youthful arrogance. So from country lanes to city streets, Duffy works every angle. And wherever he goes, he smells a rat … . My thoughts and review

The Cold Cold Ground (Detective Sean Duffy, #1)

The Cold Cold Ground (Detective Sean Duffy #1)

Northern Ireland, Spring 1981. A homophobic serial killer with a penchant for opera and a young woman’s suicide that may yet turn out to be murder. On the surface, the events are unconnected, but then things – and people – aren’t always what they seem.
My thoughts and review:
This is the first in the Sean Duffy series, set in Northern Ireland in 1981. A time of troubles, sectarian strife and hunger strikes.
Sean finds himself a stranger in a strange land. A Catholic in a predominately Protestant R.U.C. He finds himself battling demons on all sides. Paramilitary gangs on both sides of the divide, A serial killer who breaks the norm in which killing and associated crime which is the domain of the IRA and UDA etc. And also certain elements within the R.U.C.
As Sean sets off on his investigation inti these killings, he comes up against lots of things that don’t make sense. Doors that open and then shut behind him; or simply refuse to open. Cover ups and deceptions and things that just don’t up.
Sean is a well drawn character, naive but determined. Looking for answers but not always getting them.
A well told tale, brilliantly drawn cast and an unlikely hero. A book that grips and pulls the reader by the bootlaces and drags them to an exciting and satisfying conclusion.
I urge you to read this book and I’m looking forward to book2



Adrian McKinty is an Irish novelist. He was born in Belfast, Northern Ireland in 1968 and grew up in Victoria Council Estate, Carrickfergus, County Antrim. He read law at the University of Warwick and politics and philosophy at the University of Oxford. He moved to the United States in the early 1990s, living first in Harlem, New York and from 2001 onwards Denver, Colorado where he taught high school English and began writing fiction. He currently lives in Melbourne, Australia with his wife and two children.

His debut crime novel Dead I Well May Be was short-listed for the CWA Steel Dagger Award 2004.
His debut young adult novel The Lighthouse Land was shortlisted for the 2008 Young Hoosier Award and the 2008 Beehive Award
The Dead Yard was selected by Publishers Weekly as one of the 12 Best Novels of 2006 and won the 2007 Audie Award for best thriller/suspense.
The Bloomsday Dead was long-listed for the 2009 World Book Day Award.
Fifty Grand won the 2010 Spinetingler Award for best novel and was longlisted for the 2011 Theakston Best British Crime Novel Award selected Falling Glass as the Best Mystery or Thriller of 2011