Thanks to Sapere books# Blog Tour#Lying and Dying.

GB for Sapere (1)

Author Bio.

Graham Brack hails from Sunderland and met his wife Gillian in Aberdeen where they were both studying pharmacy. After their degrees Gillian returned to Cornwall and Graham followed. This is now called stalking but in 1978 it was termed “romantic”. They have two children, Andrew and Hannah, and two grandchildren, Miranda and Sophie.

Graham’s foray into crime writing began in 2010 when he entered the Crime Writers’ Association’s Debut Dagger competition and was highly commended for The Outrageous Behaviour of Left-Handed Dwarves (reissued as Lying and Dying), in which the world was introduced to Lt Josef Slonský of the Czech police. The Book of Slaughter and Forgetting (reissued as Slaughter and Forgetting) followed and Sapere Books have published book three, Death On Duty,

In 2014 and 2016 Graham was shortlisted for the Debut Dagger again. The earlier novel, The Allegory of Art and Science, is set in 17th century Delft and features the philosophy lecturer and reluctant detective Master Mercurius. Sapere Books will publish it as Death in Delft in 2018.

Twitter: @GrahamBrack

image001 (1)

Blurb:

Lying and Dying

(Josef Slonský Investigations #1)

An international crime thriller with an unforgettable detective. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Jo Nesbo and Peter Robinson.

What do you do when the poison comes from within…?

The body of a young woman is found strangled by the side of the road.

There are no obvious clues to what happened, apart from the discovery of a large amount of cash concealed on her person.

The brilliant, but lazy, Lieutenant Josef Slonský is put in charge of the case.

With a wry sense of humour, a strong stubborn streak and a penchant for pastries, Slonský is not overly popular with the rest of the police force. But he is paired with the freshly-graduated, overly-eager Navrátil, whom he immediately takes under his wing.

When fingers start to point inwards to someone familiar with police operations, Slonský and Navrátil are put in a difficult position.

If what they suspect is true, how deep does the corruption run? Are they willing to risk their careers in their pursuit of the truth?

Anyone could be lying – and others may be in danger of dying…

LYING AND DYING is the first international crime thriller in the detective series featuring Lieutenant Josef Slonský: an atmospheric police procedural full of dark humour.

JOSEF SLONSKÝ INVESTIGATIONS SERIES
BOOK ONE: Lying and Dying

BOOK TWO: Slaughter and Forgetting
BOOK THREE: Coming Soon!

*** LYING AND DYING WAS PREVIOUSLY PUBLISHED AS THE OUTRAGEOUS BEHAVIOUR OF LEFT-HANDED DWARVES *** ***

My Thoughts:
The first in a new series and a new character for me.
Enter Josef Slonsky a lazy and eccentric member of the Prague police force.
Beneath his Shambolic exterior there is a shrewd mind at work.
He is asked to take on a trainee, one detective Navratil. A task he shows, at first, extreme reticence to carry out.  But much to his chagrin a task he grows to warm to.
They strike up an unlikely partnership, laced with wry humour and sarcasm.
Slonsky himself is reminiscent of an Eastern European Columbo; and his relationship with Navratil reminds me a lot like Morse and Lewis.
This is a book where Slonsky, carrying hangups with the previous Communist regime clashes with the new ideas of the modern world.
A very exciting read. Well drawn characters; old and new school clashing.
A dark read interspersed with humour, which lightens the mood, without distracting from the story. Old meets new and after initial clashes learn to work together.
I have thoroughly enjoyed book one and look forward to book two.
Thanks to Sapere books for the ARC, the thoughts are my own and I urge you to seek out and enjoy this book.
Lying and Dying Blog Tour Version 2 (1)

 

Alert by James Patterson # Book Review#

Alert by James Patterson
Blurb;

New Yorkers aren’t easily intimidated, but someone is doing their best to scare them, badly: why? After two inexplicable high-tech attacks, the city that never sleeps is on edge. Detective Michael Bennett, along with his old pal, the FBI’s Emily Parker, have to catch the shadowy criminals who claim responsibility—but they’re as good at concealing their identities as they are at wreaking havoc.

In the wake of a shocking assassination, Bennett begins to suspect that these mysterious events are just the prelude to the biggest threat of all. Soon he’s racing against the clock, and against the most destructive enemy he’s faced yet, to save his beloved city—before everyone’s worst nightmare becomes a reality.

 

Read over 2 days.
Every so often you just need to read something that entertains, not over think; just be entertained. A fast moving tale, that asks you to suspend your disbelief and go along for the ride!
If so then James Patterson is your man.
His books are a cross between comics for adults and having a movie projector playing in your head.
Short, concise chapters; with no wasted words. He boils scenes down to the basics, no extravagant descriptive passages. He boils things down to the bare essence and keeps the action going along at a furious pace.
Some may think reads like a screenplay; and that is what it is for, the movie projector in your head.
If you are looking for literature then this wont be for you. But fast moving escapist action this is your type of read.
As I said earlier; not great but not bad either.
You can do worse than give James Patterson a try.
Available at Amazon and all good booksellers.
The author:
James Patterson has created more enduring fictional characters than any other novelist writing today, with his Alex Cross, Michael Bennett, Women’s Murder Club, Private, NYPD Red, Daniel X, Maximum Ride, and Middle School series. As of January 2016, he has sold over 375 million books worldwide and currently holds the Guinness World Record for the most #1 New York Times bestsellers. In addition to writing the thriller novels for which he is best known, he also writes children’s, middle-grade, and young-adult fiction and is the first author to have #1 new titles simultaneously on the New York Times adult and children’s bestseller lists.The son of an insurance salesman and a schoolteacher, Patterson grew up in Newburgh, New York, and began casually writing at the age of nineteen. In 1969, he graduated from Manhattan College. He was given a full ride to Vanderbilt University’s graduate program in English but dropped out after a year, knowing that he wouldn’t be able to continue reading and writing for pleasure if he became a college professor.

Instead, he moved to New York to become a junior copywriter for the advertising agency J. Walter Thompson, eventually becoming CEO of its North American company.

In 1976, while still working for J. Walter Thompson, Patterson published his first novel, The Thomas Berryman Number, with Little, Brown and Company. After being turned down by thirty-one publishers, it won the Edgar Award for Best First Novel. Patterson’s 1993 novel, Along Came a Spider, his first book to feature Alex Cross, was also his first New York Times bestseller in fiction.

In 2001, Morgan Freeman starred as Alex Cross in a film adaptation of Along Came a Spider, and Tyler Perry also played the character in the 2012 film Alex Cross. A film adaptation of Patterson’s middle-grade novel Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life was released in theaters in October 2016.

For his initiatives to help kids become passionate readers and for his philanthropic efforts, Patterson was awarded the National Book Foundation’s 2015 Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community.

James Patterson has donated more than one million books to students, focusing on some of the most under-resourced schools and youth programs in the country. In 2015, He donated $1.75 million to public school libraries throughout the United States, $1 million to independent bookstores, and an additional $250,000 in holiday bonuses to individual bookstore employees. He also gave $1 million to independent bookstores in 2014.

Patterson has recently donated over $26 million to his and his wife’s alma maters—the University of Wisconsin, Vanderbilt University, and Manhattan College—and he has established over four hundred Teacher Education Scholarships at twenty-four colleges and universities throughout the country. Patterson has also donated over 650,000 books to U.S. soldiers at home and overseas.

In May 2015, Patterson launched a new children’s book imprint at Little, Brown—JIMMY Patterson—that is unwaveringly focused on one goal: turning kids into lifelong readers. This imprint also provides resources, strategies, and programs to serve teachers, parents, librarians, and booksellers. Patterson invests proceeds from the sales of JIMMY Patterson Books in pro-reading initiatives.

Patterson also founded ReadKiddoRead.com, a website designed to help parents, teachers, and librarians ignite a new generation’s excitement for reading. Awarded the National Book Foundation’s Innovations in Reading Prize and the American Library Association’s Great Websites for Kids, the site features thoughtful book reviews from a variety of genres and age ranges, a large and lively Facebook community.