Deadly Wishes by Rachel McLean BlogTourRachelsRandomResourcesD.I. Zoe Finch New Crime Series

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Deadly Wishes

Meet Zoe Finch, West Midlands Police’s newest Detective Inspector. She’s outspoken, ambitious, and damaged. And she’s working a case that could make her career, or cost her everything…

Fresh from the success of the Canary investigation into depravity and corruption at the highest levels, Zoe has attracted attention. Not least from Assistant Chief Constable Bryn Jackson.

But when Jackson is brutally murdered on the night of his retirement party, Zoe is dragged into a case that’s deeply personal.

All the evidence points to the victim’s downtrodden wife, who has secrets of her own. But Zoe begins to suspect all isn’t as it seems. Could Jackson’s death be linked to the Canary case? And what is her new boss, DCI David Randle, hiding?

Seeking out the truth will force Zoe to confront her own past and put her career, and her team’s lives, on the line.

Deadly Wishes is a gritty crime thriller perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Caroline Mitchell, and the BBC’s Line of Duty.

Purchase Links

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B088HHCPZ7

MY THOUGHTS:

Well this is a new chapter in Rachel’s writing career. She is venturing into a crime series. This is the first book in what I hope will be a long running series. And what a book it was!

The book sees newly promoted Zoe Finch, who throughout her career has been catching the eyes of the higher echelons of her force, not least her Assistant Chief Constable Bryn Jackson. Zoe makes an appearance at Bryn’s retirement party and little knowing the next time she sees him he will be a murder victim. Who killed him and why?; this is a riddle Zoe must solve. No pressure then!

As well as trying to solve this case Zoe finds herself trying to navigate the rivers of office politics and the ingrained misogyny of her force. She also finds the deeper she goes in this investigation and the more she uncovers the more she finds is hidden covered by a network of lies. Everyone seems to be lying or at the least bending the truth. And her D.C.I. David Randle can he be hiding the biggest lie of all. What is he hiding?

This is a great book. Great narrative and top quality writing. Rachel improves with every book and if you haven’t read anything by her you could do yourself no harm by picking this book up. In fact just read Rachel McLean she is bloody brilliant!





Author Bio –
My name’s Rachel McLean and I write thrillers that make you think.

What does that mean?

In short, I want my stories to make your pulse race and your brain tick.

Do you often get through a thriller at breakneck pace but are left with little sense of what the book was really about? Do you sometimes read literary fiction but just wish something would damn well happen?

My books aim to fill that gap.

If you’d like to know more about my books and receive extra bonus content, please join my book club at rachelmclean.com/book club. I’ll send you a weekly email with news about my writing research and progress, stories and bonus content for each book. And I’ll let you know when my books are on offer.
 
Social Media Links –
https://www.facebook.com/rachelmcleanwrites/
https://twitter.com/rachelmcwrites

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s